Armstrong leads honors list with Player of the Year award for boys soccer conference

Wednesday, December 9, 2009
Raif Armstrong lead a host of Tigers who earned All-Conference honors for their fall sports teams.

Raif Armstrong has been named Player of the Year in conference soccer play, heading a lengthy list of Mountain Home athletes selected for All-Conference honors for the recently concluded fall sports season.

Also in boys soccer, Lucas Marsh made the first team at fullback. Jalen Gibbons made the second team at fullback, Francisco Dominguez and Erwin Ruiz made the second team as midfielders. Fernando Salas earned honorable mention at goalkeeper, Brian Raddatz made honorable mention at fullback, Ben Cumber made honorable mention as a midfielder and Casey Pehlke made honorable mention as a striker.

In football, first team offense All-Conference honors went to Tommy Miller at running back and Jake Lewis on the offensive line for the Mountain Home Tigers. First team defense All-Conference honors went to Deion Brown on the defensive line and Tom Hennessey at linebacker.

Honorable mention offensive honors went to Tyler Wright at tight end and Trevor Woodruff at wide receiver. Honorable mention defensive honors went to Colton Zamora at linebacker and Brock Morris and Drew Hopkins at defensive backs.

In volleyball, Blas Lord and Arlene Futch both earned honorable mention All-Conference honors.

In girls soccer, Jessica Tindall made second team defender, while Lauren Moore and Claudia Bermensolo both made honorable mention as midfielders.

Academic All-Conference awards for having a 3.5 or better grade point average went to Colby Hall, Haley Schaefer, Jordan Vivier, Sarah Richins, Dylan Johnson, Dallas Croft, Kacee Cameron and Ashley Mayberry in cross country; Jake Hennessey, Tom Hennessey, Brock Morris, Drew Hopkins, J.T. Cristobal, Joel Schneider and Tommy Miller in football; Lucas Marsh, Jalen Gibbons, Tyson Gibbons, Tyler McCloud, Anthony McKenzie, Brent Sexauer, Ryan O'Neill, Blake Pachner, Ben Cumber, and Jordan Condon in boys soccer; Carolyn Hughes, Rachel Warila, Lauren Moore, Shelby Henrick, Sarah Baldridge, Kelly Robins, Jasmine DeRoy, Amanda Osborn, Adriana Garcia, Fatima Guillen, Claudia Bermensolo, Jessica Tindall and Alicen Wendall in girls soccer; and Tanya McKenzie, Caitlin Kreyche, Jessica Liercke, Dylan Dean, Blas Lord, Lindsay Sessions, Nickayla Skinner and Alexis Ruffing in volleyball.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: